Skip to content

5w5d scare!

September 10, 2009

So yesterday I was 5 weeks and 5 days (5w5d) and had my first scare.  I had been having some dizzy spells for just a couple of days and it wasn’t super scary until it happened at work and I almost passed out.

I realized that the dizziness would come on if I tipped my head back and looked up.  It was happening every couple of hours while I was sleeping but it would only last for a few seconds and then everything would be fine.

I made the mistake of trying to put eye drops in at work and my whole world started spinning and it wouldn’t stop.  I somehow made it to the bathroom and thank goodness the handicap stall was open because I used the bars to hold on to while I got sick.  Seeing as I haven’t had a dizzy spell like that in years, I went outside and called my OB/GYN.  Her nurse picked up and told me that I was most likely dehydrated and I should see the on campus nurse (that’s when the tears started.)  I walked over to the nurse at work and she took my blood pressure while sitting, while laying down, took my blood sugar, my pulse, listened to my heart and checked on my sinuses.  She said everything looked good and agreed that I might just be dehydrated.  The work nurse even let me use her phone to call my Dr’s office back.  The OB/GYN nurse said my #’s looked great and instructed me to drink more and rest.

I went back to my desk and just tried to chill out for the rest of the day, but I just couldn’t shake that “I’m about to cry at any moment” feeling.  I was so thankful to go home and just relax at the end of the day.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

