Skip to content

Updates

April 8, 2010

Alright, so it’s been a little while since I last posted, sorry, been a little busy around here getting things ready.

So after the day’s worth of bed rest and contractions that finally spaced out to more than 20 minutes, the doctor decided that I was most likely have Braxton Hicks contractions and I could go for weeks with them without me going into labor.  Fantastic, just what I wanted to hear.  Contractions have become the norm for me now, some are more painful than others, some are pretty strong and take my breath away and some just tighten up my belly and I barely notice those anymore.

I’ve also had some swelling in my feet and hands which is only made worse with our freak 90+ degree day that we had yesterday (umm, hello, it’s April, not JULY!!) and it’s gotten pretty uncomfortable.

I saw the midwife, Jill, today, she is one of my favorites at the practice.  She takes a lot of time with you and really answers your questions.  She came in the room and asked how I was doing, I told her that I was having some swelling and she said that she saw that before she even walked into the room based on my weight gain (umm, 4 lbs in the past 2 weeks, that’s more than my entire 1st trimester.)  She then talked about how my BP was slightly elevated and noticed that my eyes were a little more swollen than normal, which I’m sure the crying fit on the way to the dr didn’t help!  She decided to send me for blood work to check my kidney and liver functions just to be on the safe side.  She did the swab for my Group B Strep test and then asked if I wanted her to check my cervix since I’ve been having contractions, I agreed.  Wow, that was just a little uncomfortable.  My cervix is thinned and forward.  I’m not really sure what that means, but it sounds like things are moving along nicely, now I’m just hoping that the blood work comes back normal.

Jill also mentioned that if the swelling gets worse or my BP gets higher, than she may take me out of work and put me on modified bed rest.  I would welcome being taken out of work, but the bed rest part wouldn’t be so fun.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

