Skip to content

I really didn’t think I would get here

August 6, 2012

This morning as I was laying in bed, I grabbed my phone and started checking Facebook like I do most mornings.  Iz was still asleep so I had a few minutes.  My former co-workers were complaining about it being Monday and having to take phone calls, like most Mondays.  I would have been right there with them cursing certain customers for asking dumb questions or just making my Monday morning crappy.

 

Our morning progressed and we decided to go on a family bike ride.  As I was riding I realized it was Monday.  I mean, I knew it was Monday, but it was MONDAY and I wasn’t in a panic because it was Monday.  In fact, I can’t remember the last Sunday night where I was so dreading work on Monday that I gave myself a stomach ache.  

 

On that day back in February when I cried so hard at work because I got laid off, I really couldn’t see the bright side.  Plenty of people told me that when one door closes, another one opens and being laid off was the push I needed to find the real me, but I could not see that.  I still couldn’t see it in May when I was stressed over my upcoming Bio class and still dealing with the Dept. of Labor on an almost daily basis, and I certainly couldn’t see it in June or July when I reached an all time high in stress.  But for some reason, I saw it today.  Out there riding behind N and Iz on the trail, everything was calm and peaceful, I found my open door and my silver lining.

 

Just when I didn’t think I would get there. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

